Skip to main content

Incognito Apply

Ready to remove bias and focus on applicants' skills and experience? Find out how to use Breezy’s Incognito Apply feature.

Written by Breezy Team

Breezy’s Incognito Apply is a tool that redacts application and resume info that could lead to bias early in the hiring process, such as name, location, and gender.

Support for Incognito Apply is ending on October 1, 2025.

The Incognito tool anonymizes candidate data automatically, as soon as a candidate applies through your career portal or a job board. Hiring teams can focus on the applicant’s qualifications, rather than their identity, to decide whether or not to advance them in the hiring process.


In this article:


How Incognito Apply works

Breezy’s incognito tool automatically redacts data from a candidate’s application and resume when they apply through your career portal, from a job board, or with a direct link to the position. Identifiable information like their name, photo, pronouns, and contact details are replaced with anonymized terms or placeholders, to reduce potential bias based on a person’s identity.

A candidate profile is created for the candidate, which you can access in the Applicants List or the Applied stage of your pipeline. This initial profile provides limited info and functionality. For example, you’ll be able to see the applicant’s anonymized resume and application responses, but you won’t be able to add experience info, contact the candidate, schedule an interview, or fill out a scorecard.

While reviewing the applicant’s initial profile, a Hiring Manager can decide whether to advance or disqualify the applicant and move them to a new stage. Their original data will be restored in a fully-functional profile, and relevant stage actions will be triggered.

🤖 Incognito Apply is powered by AI, which is awesome, but not always perfect. It’s possible that some candidates’ PII may slip through our filters.


How to enable Incognito Apply

Anyone who can create or edit a position can enable or disable Incognito when they create a position, or later, in the position’s settings.

  1. Open the correct position.

  2. Click the gear icon ⚙️ in the top-right corner of the window to open Position Settings.

  3. Click Screening in the left sidebar.

  4. Find Incognito and click Enable.

    • If it’s the first time anyone on your team has enabled Incognito, click Get Incognito Apply and follow the steps to choose a plan and confirm payment.

Enable Incognito Apply in position settings


Functionality with Incognito Apply

In order to keep your candidates’ info under wraps in the Applied stage, Breezy works a little differently when Incognito is enabled.

Availability: Incognito Apply redacts info on applications and resumes submitted through your career portal and third-party job boards, or with a direct link to the position. Candidates added or sourced by resume upload, manual entry, or email submission won’t be filtered by Incognito.

Indicators: You’ll see an Incognito icon on candidate profiles that are protected by Incognito, and areas of the profile or candidate list that aren’t available will be noted or grayed out.

Questionnaires: You can’t use a questionnaire with your application form for a position with Incognito Apply enabled. Instead, try triggering a questionnaire on the next stage, so you can collect the info you need once a candidate is advanced.

Cover letters: Cover letters may not be fully redacted, depending on how the document is formatted. Consider disabling cover letters on your application form.

Stage actions: Most stage actions are not available on the Applied stage while Incognito Apply is enabled. You’ll be notified how your pipeline is affected when you enable Incognito on a position or edit stage actions.

Communication: You can’t send emails or text messages to candidates in the Applied stage while Incognito Apply is enabled. You can send an email via a stage action to respond when they first apply, but it will be sent from a no-reply email address.

Incognito status: If you enable, disable, or cancel Incognito Apply while there are new candidates in your Applied stage, their info will be redacted or revealed based on the change.

  • If Incognito Apply is enabled after candidates have applied, candidates already in the Applied stage will not be anonymized. New applicants will be anonymized.

  • If Incognito Apply is disabled after candidates have applied, candidates in the Applied stage will remain anonymized until they’re moved to another stage. New applicants will not be anonymized.


How to review and move candidates

Anyone on the hiring team can view the anonymized candidate profiles in the Applied stage. You’ll see a simplified, redacted version of the candidate’s resume and application form.

When you’ve decided to advance or disqualify a candidate, a Hiring Manager can move them to another stage from their profile, the pipeline, or the Applicants list.

Once a candidate is moved to another pipeline stage, their info will be revealed, along with their original resume. Any relevant stage actions will be triggered, and you’ll have full functionality on their profile. 💥

Reviewing and moving filtered candidates

Did this answer your question?